top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRizzo Baldwin

Food is Not the Enemy


It’s the holiday season, so that means every food blog, commercial and talk show are reminding us to feel bad about the food we eat.

But I have a secret. They’re wrong.

Food is not something to feel bad about. Our bodies need it to function, to start. And it tastes great! (usually.) I don’t know about you, but I am sick and tired of “fun healthy recipes you don’t have to feel guilty for.” And “treats that won’t break your diet.” You should never feel ashamed for enjoying food. It is one of the few gifts we are given from the start. Food is our companion through our whole lives. I don’t believe in denying myself things that make me happy, and delicious food is one of those things.


Unfortunately, our society is a big part of the unhealthy way many of us see food. We are told we have to be thin and count calories and watch what we eat to deserve love. This is just not true. I know how hard it can be to unlearn the things society has shoved into our minds. Taking back the way you see food is a good way to start unlearning those things. Food can make you feel good, triggering the happy chemicals in our minds. Foods can bring you comfort in times of sadness. Food can be a beautiful thing, and you are not less than for enjoying it.

7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page